Virginia gun laws...please answer

2,308 Views | 35 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by Osodecentx
fadskier
How long do you want to ignore this user?
With respect, I am a pro-2nd amendment conservative that just happens to not own a gun. These Democratic sponsored proposed laws do not seem to be that big of a deal to me and actually, quite reasonable.

https://www.dailywire.com/news/watch-va-sheriff-we-will-not-enforce-unconstitutional-gun-control-laws

Can someone who is opposed to them explain the other side? Maybe I am missing something.
Doc Holliday
These laws will create a slippery slope.

They won't work and when they don't, they will call for extreme measures.
RD2WINAGNBEAR86
fadskier said:

With respect, I am a pro-2nd amendment conservative that just happens to not own a gun. These Democratic sponsored proposed laws do not seem to be that big of a deal to me and actually, quite reasonable.

https://www.dailywire.com/news/watch-va-sheriff-we-will-not-enforce-unconstitutional-gun-control-laws

Can someone who is opposed to them explain the other side? Maybe I am missing something.
Agree with you fadskier. I am a second amendment guy (who owns guns) but see no problem with more extensive background checks and "red flag" laws.
"Never underestimate Joe's ability to **** things up!"

-- Barack Obama
Osodecentx
I don't like the 1 month limitation, but it would not have affected any of my gun purchases.

I'm okay with the other 2 bills. I just don't see the problem.

"The three bills that made it through include a law that will allow local authorities to ban weapons from public spaces during some events, another that limits handgun purchases to one a month, and a law requiring background checks for all firearm purchases," The Daily Wire reported.
codyorr
Playing devil's advocate:

SB35: Makes public spaces during permitted events more dangerous, as people wishing to inflict harm will know there are fewer civilians potentially carrying who could stop them.