Photo by © Raymond Carlin III-USA Today
Baylor Football

Denzel Mims named to Preseason All-Big 12 Team

July 11, 2018

Try SicEm365 Premium until August 27 for $1.00!

Irving, Texas - The Big 12 Conference has announced its 2018 Preseason All-Big 12 Football Team and individual awards, chosen by media representatives who cover the league, and Baylor junior receiver Denzel Mims was one of three receivers to make the list.

As a sophomore in 2017, Mims caught 61 passes for 1,087 yards and eight touchdowns. 

The honorees include 17 seniors, 11 juniors and one sophomore. Seven were named to the 2017 All-Big 12 First Team while 11 were on the second team.

Selections for the preseason individual awards were quarterback Will Grier (West Virginia) as Offensive Player of the Year, defensive end Ben Banogu (TCU) as Defensive Player of the Year and defensive back Brendan Radley-Hiles (Oklahoma) as Newcomer of the Year.

Grier is the Conference’s top returner in total ffense average (328.4), passing yards per game (317.3) and passing effciency (162.7). The 2017 Big 12 Offensive Newcomer of the Year started 11 games for West Virginia before a season-ending hand injury in the first quarter against Texas.

Banogu was the 2017 Big 12 Defensive Newcomer of the Year and an All-Big 12 First Team selection on the defensive line while starting all 14 games for TCU. He had 49 tackles last season, including 16.5 tackles for loss and 8.5 sacks. His sack total was second in the Conference behind teammate Mat Boesen and his TFL ranked third.

True freshman Radley-Hiles intercepted five passes his senior season and added four pass breakups and two forced fumbles. He was rated as a five-star recruit by Rivals and a four-star prospect by 247Sports and ESPN while named a U.S. Army All-American.

The Big 12 media preseason poll will be released on Thursday, followed by the annual Big 12 Football Media Days to be conducted in Frisco, Texas on July 16-17. Both days will be televised live from 9:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. CT on FS2 and other FOX Sports regional a liates. Exclusive coverage from the event will also be available on the Big 12’s digital platforms –, Twitter and Instagram(@ Big12Conference). The offcial hashtag for the event will be #Big12FB.

Offensive Player of the Year: Will Grier, West Virgina

Defensive Player of the Year: Ben Banogu, TCU

Newcomer of the Year: Brendan Radley-Hiles, Oklahoma

QB: Will Grier, SR, West Virgina

RB: David Montgomery, JR, Iowa State

RB: Rodney Anderson, JR, Oklahoma

RB: Justice Hill, JR, Oklahoma State

WR: Denzel Mims, JR, Baylor

WR: Marquise Brown, JR, Oklahoma

WR: David Sills, SR, West Viginia

TE: Grant Calcaterra, SO, Oklahoma

OL: Dalton Risner, SR, Kansas State

OL: Bobby Evans, JR, Oklahoma

OL: Ben Powers, SR, Oklahoma

OL: Marcus Keyes, JR, Oklahoma State

OL: Yodny Cajuste, SR, West Virginia

DL: JaQuan Bailey, JR, Iowa State

DL: Daniel Wise, SR, Kansas

DL: Jordan Brailford, JR, Oklahoma State

DL: Ben Banogu, SR, TCU

DL: Breckyn Hager, SR, Texas

LB: Joe Dineen Jr., SR, Kansas

LB: Dakota Allen, SR, Texas Tech

LB: David Long Jr., JR, West Virginia

DB: Brian Peavy, SR, Iowa State

DB: Kendall Adams, SR, Kansas State

DB: Kris Boyd, SR, Texas

DB: Jah'Shawn Johnson, SR, Texas Tech

DB: Justus Parker, JR, Texas Tech

P: Austin Seibert, SR, Oklahoma

K: Austin Seibert, SR, Oklahoma

PR/KR: KaVontae Turpin, SR, TCU

Discussion from...

Denzel Mims named to Preseason All-Big 12 Team

There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.