Baylor Men’s Golf Trio Named All-America Scholars

July 25, 2019

NORMAN, Okla. – Baylor men’s golfers Braden Bailey, Cooper Dossey and Colin Kober have been honored as 2019 Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholars, as announced by the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

This marks the second consecutive year the Bears have had a school-record three All-America Scholars. The trio is among 271 Division I student-athletes recognized. To be eligible for Division I Srixon/Cleveland Golf All-America Scholar status an individual must be a junior or senior academically, participate in 50-percent of his team’s competitive rounds, have a stroke-average under 76.0, and maintain a minimum cumulative career grade-point average of 3.2. A recipient must also be of high moral character and be in good standing at his college or university.

Bailey was honored for the second consecutive season, while Dossey and Kober were recognized for the first time.

The Bears have had 18 different players earn a total of 25 All-America Scholar honors in program history. With three honorees in 2019, Baylor has placed multiple golfers on the All-America Scholar team in all five seasons under head coach Mike McGraw. The 12 total honorees during McGraw’s tenure nearly match the program’s 13 previous All-America Scholar selections in 21 seasons prior to his arrival.

Bailey became the seventh Baylor player to be recognized in both seasons as an upperclassmen, four of which have come during the McGraw era. Bailey joins Worth Williams (2000-01), Chase Thomas (2006-07), Bill Allcorn (2007-08), Frederik Andersen (2015-16), Andreas Gjesteby (2015-16) and Matthew Perrine (2017-18) as two-time honorees.

A Groves, Texas, native, Bailey became the first player in program history to compete at four NCAA Championships. He competed in the Baylor lineup in all 11 tournaments and posted a 72.86 stroke average across 29 stroke play rounds. Bailey finished his Baylor career ranked seventh in program history with a 72.17 stroke average across 144 rounds. He’s tied for fifth in program history with 18 top-10 finishes, ranked seventh with nine top-5 finishes and ranked fifth with 144 career stroke play rounds. He helped lead the Bears to the first Big 12 Championship since 2001 when they claimed the inaugural Big 12 Match Play Championship title in October.

Dossey, a junior from Austin, Texas, led the team with a 72.21 stroke average across 29 stroke play rounds. He also led the team with 86.8% of his rounds counting toward the team score, and he recorded six top-25 finishes while competing as part of the Baylor lineup in all 11 tournaments. Dossey enters his senior year ranked fourth in program history with a 71.94 stroke average across 94 rounds and tied for 12th with nine top-10 finishes.

A Southlake, Texas, native, Kober finished second on the team with a 72.28 stroke average, just two strokes behind Dossey. He led the Bears with 14 of 29 stroke play rounds at par or better, recorded a pair of top-5 individual finishes and played as part of the Baylor lineup in all 11 tournaments. Kober enters his senior season ranked 11th on Baylor’s all-time list with a 73.05 stroke average across 57 rounds. He was also named Big 12 Men’s Golf Scholar-Athlete of the Year and won the NCAA’s Elite 90 Award for a second consecutive season.

The Bears are coming off a school-record fourth consecutive NCAA Championship berth and return four of the six players who combined to win the inaugural Big 12 Match Play Championship. Kober and Dossey return as seniors, while Ryan Grider and Mark Reppe are back as juniors. The Bears also return redshirt junior Travis McInroe and sophomore Brandon Hoff, and they add the best recruiting class in program history with four incoming freshmen – Luke Dossey, John Keefer, Tyler Isenhart and Scout McNealy.

Baylor golfers have had an excellent summer, with Cooper Dossey winning the 119th North & South Amateur, May claiming the 58th Northeast Amateur title and Grider winning the 110th Texas Amateur. Additionally, four Bears advanced through qualifiers to earn berths in the 2019 U.S. Amateur. McInroe, Reppe, Grider and Dossey will all compete at Pinehurst when the 119th U.S. Amateur is contested August 11-18.


1994 – Kory Bowman

1997 – Chris Nickens

2000 – Worth Williams

2001 – Worth Williams

2003 – Trevar Matheson

2004 – Jon Antunes

2006 – Chase Thomas

2007 – Bill Allcorn

2007 – Chase Thomas

2008 – Bill Allcorn

2011 – Joakim Mikkelsen

2011 – Lorenzo Scotto

2014 – Jerry Ruiz

2015 – Frederik Andersen

2015 – Andreas Gjesteby

2016 – Frederik Andersen

2016 – Andreas Gjesteby

2017 – Matthew Perrine

2017 – Hunter Shattuck

2018 – Braden Bailey

2018 – Garrett May

2018 – Matthew Perrine

2019 – Braden Bailey

2019 – Cooper Dossey

2019 – Colin Kober

Tags: Golf
Discussion from...

Baylor Men’s Golf Trio Named All-America Scholars

455 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 6 mo ago by SicEm365 Staff
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 0
Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.