Story Poster
Photo by © Jay Biggerstaff -USA TODAY Sports
Baylor Baseball

Baylor Has 80 Named to Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team

July 1, 2020

IRVING, Texas – Eighty Baylor student-athletes have been named to the 2019-20 Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team, the conference office announced Wednesday morning. The list honors conference competitors who are new, incoming freshmen at their respective league institution.

For the eighth-consecutive year, Baylor has had more than 40 student-athletes earn recognition, joining Texas as the only other Big 12 school to do so. Since its inception in 2012-13, 453 Bears have been honored.

Seven Bears were nominated with 4.00 grade point averages, including Keri Collins (acrobatics & tumbling), Abby Luong (acrobatics & tumbling), Luke Dossey (men’s golf), Johnny Keefer (men’s golf), Brooke Botha (women’s track & field), Lynn Mantingh (women’s track & field) and Carson Yarbrough (men’s track & field/cross country).

Nominated by each institution’s director of student-athlete support services, student-athletes on the Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team must be new, first-time/incoming freshmen that have completed 24 semester hours of non-remedial coursework and achieved a cumulative GPA of at least 3.00. 

The Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team was introduced in the 2012-13 academic year.

2019-20 Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team

*Indicates nominated with a 4.00 GPA

Acrobatics & Tumbling (13)

Karsyn Campbell - Exercise Physiology

Keri Collins* - Exercise Physiology

Kristin Dyson - Political Science

Tori Harris - Child and Family Studies

Shaye Lauro - Communication Sciences and Disorders

Abby Luong* - Film and Digital Media

Haley Mustafa - Environmental Studies

Alayja Reynolds - Pre-Business

Mikaela Robinson - Health Science Studies

Katherine Shiffer - Public Health

Drew Sliker - Exercise Physiology

Emily Tobin - Pre-Business

Navy Villar - Studio Art

Baseball (12)

Theron Brown - Pre-Business

Cade Currington - Pre-Business

Evan Godwin - Communication

Jack Hattrup - Pre-Business

Jared McKenzie - Pre-Business

Kyle Nevin - Pre-Business

Nicolas Balsano - Pre-Business

Hambleton Oliver - Pre-Business

Will Rigney - Pre-Business

Nolan Rodriguez - Political Science

Cutter Sippell - Pre-Business

Kyle Storemski - Pre-Business

Women’s Basketball (1)

Jordyn Oliver - Communication

Equestrian (13)

Maddy Bomba - Health Science Studies

Holly Carter - Health Science Studies

Brooke Giacin - Pre-Business

Bella Jacuzzi - Pre-Business

Daisy Kaufman - Biochemistry

Gabrielle Marty - Health Science Studies

Jenna Meimerstorf - Pre-Business

Elsie Naruszewicz - Public Health

Haley Petersen - Health Science Studies

Andie Pratt - Communication Science and Disorders

Christina Rogalny - Pre-Business

Dominika Silvestri - Pre-Business

Madeline Vorhies - Engineering

Football (10)

Jacoby Clarke - Pre-Business

Qualan Jones - Exercise Physiology

Collin Losack - Biochemistry

Tripp Mitchell - Pre-Business

Noah Rauschenberg - Exercise Physiology

Shevin Smith - Pre-Business

Griffin Speaks - Pre-Business

Yusuf Terry - Undecided

Hakeem Vance - Pre- Film & Digital Media

Kolby White - Health, Kinesiology, and Leisure Studies

Men’s Golf (4)

Luke Dossey* - Pre-Business

Tyler Isenhart - Pre-Business

Johnny Keefer* - Pre-Business

Scout McNealy - Statistics

Women’s Golf (1)

Anika Veintemilla - Pre-Business

Soccer (5)

Madeline Bryant - Pre-Business

Michaela Gorman - Health Science Studies

Marissa Gray - Health, Kinesiology, and Leisure Studies

Elizabeth Kooiman - Pre-Engineering

Tara Sumer - Pre-Business

Softball (4)

Katie Ellington - Pre-Neuroscience

Emily Hott - Pre-Business

Campbell Selman - Health, Kinesiology, and Leisure Studies

Erin Talley - Health Science Studies

Men’s Tennis (2)

Rahul Dhokia - Pre-Business

Christopher Frantzen - Pre-Business

Women’s Tennis (1)

Daria Rakitskaya, Baylor Tennis Pre-Business Moscow, Russia

Women’s Track & Field/Cross Country (8)

Ava Bartlett-Miller - Biology

Brooke Botha* - Aviation Science

Leila Grant - Journalism

Mackenzie Hayward - Pre-Engineering

Sophia Leidner - Baylor Business Fellows

Lynn Mantingh* - Biology

Lauryn Simons - Baylor Business Fellows/Accounting/Finance

Ysabelle Tugano - Pre-Nursing

Men’s Track & Field/Cross Country (3)

Kade Hulett - Pre-Engineering

Elijah Morris - Undecided

Carson Yarbrough* - Political Science

Volleyball (3)

Campbell Bowden - Health, Kinesiology, and Leisure Studies

Sara Jones - Journalism

Jena Kelly - Pre-Business

Discussion from...

Baylor Has 80 Named to Academic All-Big 12 Rookie Team

2,671 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 6 mo ago by SicEm365 Staff
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.