Story Poster
Photo by Robert Deutsch-USA TODAY Sports
Baylor Basketball

Butler, Wandt Candidates for Big 12 Sportsperson of the Year

June 9, 2021

IRVING, Texas – Baylor’s Jared Butler (men’s basketball) and Jennifer Wandt (soccer) have been announced as candidates for the 2020-21 Big 12 Sportsperson of the Year, the conference announced on Wednesday.

The Sportsperson of the Year Awards began in 2000-01 to annually recognize student-athletes who displayed an extraordinary degree of sportsmanship, community service and academic achievement. A 10-person media panel selects the male and female honorees.

Butler, the Final Four’s Most Outstanding Player for the national champion Baylor Bears, was the first consensus First-Team All-American in program history in addition to being named the AP’s Big 12 Player of the Year and the USBWA District VII Player of the Year.

Off the court, Butler served as a student-athlete representative on the NCAA Division I Men’s Basketball Oversight Committee. He also volunteered as a 2nd-3rd grade Sunday school teacher at Harris Creek Baptist Church in Waco.

The Big 12 Men’s Basketball Scholar Athlete of the Year graduated in three years from Baylor with a BBA in Management.

Wandt became Baylor’s all-time leader in career shutouts with 32 after racking up seven during the 2020 season. The senior played every minute between the pipes for the Bears and finished the season tied atop the league with 58 saves on the season.

Wandt spent the academic year as secretary on BU’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC) and served with Keep Waco Beautiful.

The second team All-Big 12 goalkeeper graduated in May with a Bachelor of Arts in Political Science.

The Baylor duo join 18 others as nominees across the league: Iowa State’s Sami Williams (Softball) and David Carr (Wrestling), Kansas’ Manon Manning (Women’s Swimming & Diving) and Jonah Ulane (Baseball),  K-State’s Ayoka Lee (Women’s Basketball) and Jordan Wicks (Baseball), Oklahoma’s Ivana Corley (Women’s Tennis) and Pat Fields (Football), Oklahoma State’s Maja Stark (Women’s Golf) and Cade Cunningham (Men’s Basketball),  TCU’s Emily Alvarado (Soccer) and Chengetayi (Du) Mapaya (Men’s Track & Field), Texas’ Alexandra Watson (Rowing) and Sam Ehlinger (Football), Texas Tech’s Ruth Usoro (Women’s Track & Field) and Tony Bradford Jr. (Football) and West Virginia’s Audrey Adams (Volleyball) and Kevin Brophy (Baseball). 

The award winners will be announced on Thursday, June 17.

Discussion from...

Butler, Wandt Candidates for Big 12 Sportsperson of the Year

546 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 4 days ago by SicEm365 Staff
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.