Story Poster
Photo by Jack Mackenzie - SicEm365
Baylor Women's Basketball

Asberry Lands Spot on 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List

October 18, 2022

SPRINGFIELD, Mass. – Baylor women’s basketball fifth-year senior Ja’Mee Asberry is one of 20 Division I women’s basketball student-athletes placed on the 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List, the Naismith Basketball Hall of Fame and Women’s Basketball Coaches Association (WBCA) announced on Tuesday.

Named after the first player, male or female, selected to an All-America Team in four-straight college seasons, the annual award in its sixth year recognizes the top shooting guard in women’s NCAA Division I college basketball. A national committee of top college basketball personnel determined the watch list of 20 candidates.

Asberry, a fifth-year senior from Tulsa, Oklahoma, is one of just three from the Big 12 mentioned on the list. A two-time all-conference performer, Asberry earned preseason recognition from the league, garnering an All-Big 12 Honorable Mention. The now-grad student transferred to Baylor from Oklahoma State as a senior last year, starting every game for the Bears while leading BU in minutes played with 32.9 per contest. Including her stint with the Cowgirls, Asberry is a member of the 1,000-point club, surpassing that mark in a matchup against Oklahoma last season.

Players can play their way onto and off the list at any point during the 2022-23 season. Fans are encouraged to participate in Fan Voting, presented by Dell Technologies, in each of the three rounds starting Friday, Oct. 21. In late January, the watch list of 20 players for the 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be narrowed to 10 and then to just five in late February. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Meyers Drysdale and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee where a winner will be selected.

The recipient of the 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award will be presented on a to-be-determined date, along with the other four members of the Women’s Starting Five. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward), Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward) and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center), in addition to the Men’s Starting Five.

Discussion from...

Asberry Lands Spot on 2023 Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watch List

804 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 3 mo ago by SicEm365 Staff
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.