Baylor Football

Baylor’s Morris Named Texas co-Sportscaster of the Year

January 13, 2020

WACO, Texas – Baylor Assistant AD for Broadcasting John Morris has been selected as 2019 Texas co-Sportscaster of the Year, as announced Monday by the National Sports Media Association.

Morris was selected for the first time in his 33-year career as “Voice of the Bears.” He becomes the first Texas Sportscaster of the Year from outside of the state’s four largest markets (DFW, Houston, San Antonio, Austin) and just the second sportscaster to win the award while serving a university. Morris is the 19th different sportscaster to be recognized in the awards’ 61-year history.

Morris was one of five finalists for the award along with Dale Hansen (WFAA-TV, Dallas), Eric Nadel (Rangers Radio Network), Brad Sham (Cowboys Radio Network) and Craig Way (Longhorn IMG Sports Network, Austin).

A Kentucky native, Morris was selected as co-Sportscaster of the Year with Hansen, who was tabbed for the fifth time. Way is the only other collegiate broadcaster to win the award (2016), while Sham is a 12-time winner and Nadel is an eight-time honoree.

The NSMA has awarded Texas Sportscaster of the Year annually since 1959. Finalists are nominated by NSMA members in each state, and the membership from each state votes on its annual Sportscaster of the Year.

Morris is in his 33rd year broadcasting Baylor Football and his 25th year as the signature voice of Baylor Athletics. He worked alongside Frank Fallon for eight years on Baylor football broadcasts, and his duties now include play-by-play for Baylor football and men’s basketball, in addition to daily Baylor and Big 12 programming and the daily “John Morris Show” on 1660 ESPN Radio in Waco.

Morris has broadcast 381 consecutive games over 33 seasons calling Baylor football. He also serves as the lead play-by-play voice for Baylor’s third-tier television broadcasts, first with Fox Sports Southwest and currently with Big 12 Now on ESPN+. He calls play-by-play on third-tier TV broadcasts of Baylor football, men’s basketball, women’s basketball, baseball, softball, tennis, soccer, volleyball, track & field, equestrian and acrobatics & tumbling.

Morris will be honored in Winston-Salem, N.C. during the 61st-annual awards weekend, June 27-29.

NSMA Texas Sportscasters of the Year

1959 – Kern Tips, KPRC (Houston)

1960 – Kern Tips, Humble Network (Houston)

1961 – Kern Tips, Humble Network (Houston)

1962 – Kern Tips, Humble Network (Houston)

1963 – Kern Tips, Humble Network (Houston)

1964 – Frank Gleiber, KRLD (Dallas)

1965 – Gene Elston, Houston Astro Network (Houston)

1966 – Gene Elston, Houston Astro Network (Houston)

1967 – Gene Elston, Houston Astro Network (Houston)

1968 – Frank Gleiber, KRVD (Dallas)

1969 – Connie Alexander, Humble Network (Houston)

1970 – Gene Elston, KPRC (Houston)

1971 – Gene Elston, Houston Astros Network (Houston)

1972 – Frank Gleiber, Dallas Cowboys (Dallas)

1973 – Bill Enis, KPRC (Houston)

1974 – Frank Gleiber, KRLD (Dallas)

1975 – Frank Gleiber, KRLD (Dallas)

1976 – Frank Gleiber, KRLD (Dallas)

1977 – Verne Lundquist, WFAA (Dallas)

1978 – Verne Lundquist, WFAA (Dallas)

1979 – Verne Lundquist, WFAA (Dallas)

1980 – Verne Lundquist, WFAA (Dallas)

1981 – Verne Lundquist, WFAA (Dallas)

1982 – Verne Lundquist, WFAA (Dallas)

1983 – Verne Lundquist, WFAA (Dallas)

1984 – Dale Hansen, WFAA (Dallas)

1985 – Ron Franklin, KPRC (Houston)

1986 – Brad Sham, KRLD (Dallas) & Dale Hansen, WFAA (Dallas)

1987 – Brad Sham, KRLD (Dallas)

1988 – Dale Hansen, WFAA (Dallas)

1989 – Craig Roberts, KPRC (Houston)

1990 – Brad Sham, KRLD (Dallas)

1991 – Brad Sham, KVIL (Dallas)

1992 – Mark Holtz, WBAP (Dallas)

1993 – Brad Sham, KVIL (Dallas)

1994 – Brad Sham, KVIL (Dallas)

1995 – Brad Sham, KRLD (Arlington)

1996 – Brad Sham, KRLD (Arlington)

1997 – Mark Holtz, WBAP (Arlington)

1998 – Dale Hansen, WFAA (Dallas)

1999 – Eric Nadel, KRLD (Arlington)

2000 – Babe Laufenberg, KVTV (Dallas)

2001 – Eric Nadel, Texas Rangers (Arlington)

2002 – Eric Nadel, Texas Rangers (Arlington)

2003 – Babe Laufenberg, KTVT (Fort Worth)

2004 – Babe Laufenberg, KTVT (Fort Worth)

2005 – Brad Sham, Dallas Cowboys (Dallas)

2006 – Eric Nadel, Texas Rangers (Arlington)

2007 – Brad Sham, Dallas Cowboys (Dallas)

2008 – Mark Berman, KRIV (Houston)

2009 – Eric Nadel, Texas Rangers (Arlington)

2010 – Eric Nadel, Texas Rangers (Arlington)

2011 – Eric Nadel, Texas Rangers (Arlington)

2012 – Brad Sham, Cowboys Radio Network (Dallas)

2013 – Bill Brown, Astros TV Network (Houston)

2014 – Bill Schoening, San Antonio Spurs Radio Network/WOAI (San Antonio)

2015 – Eric Nadel, Rangers Radio Network (Dallas)

2016 – Craig Way, Longhorn IMG Sports Network (Austin)

2017 – Brad Sham, Dallas Cowboys Radio Network (Dallas)

2018 – Mark Followill, Mavs/Fox Sports SW & FC Dallas/TXA21 (Dallas)

2019 – John Morris, Baylor Radio Network (Waco) & Dale Hansen, WFAA (Dallas)

NSMA Texas Sportscaster of the Year Winners

Brad Sham – 12-time honoree

Eric Nadel – 8-time honoree

Verne Lundquist – 7-time honoree

Frank Gleiber – 6-time honoree

Kern Tips – 5-time honoree

Gene Elston – 5-time honoree

Dale Hansen – 5-time honoree

Babe Laufenberg – 3-time honoree

Mark Holtz – 2-time honoree

Connie Alexander

Bill Enis

Ron Franklin

Craig Roberts

Mark Berman

Bill Brown

Bill Schoening

Craig Way

Mark Followill

John Morris

Discussion from...

Baylor’s Morris Named Texas co-Sportscaster of the Year

1,674 Views | 10 Replies | Last: 4 mo ago by saabing bear
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I've always found his broadcasts to be quite difficult to listen to. Good for him though.
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Congratulations to JMo.

Having Dale Hansen with JMo sorta seems like a slap to this Baylor Fan. I don't think Dale has ever had a kind word for Baylor.
Illigitimus non carborundum
How long do you want to ignore this user?
His heart is in the right place...his basketball games are better than his football games. JJ Joe makes up for a lot.
Mike E
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Sweetz! He does put in a lot of work.
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Kind of surprised Frank Fallon never won that award.
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Chamberman said:

His heart is in the right place...his basketball games are better than his football games. JJ Joe makes up for a lot.
Couldn't have said it better. JMo's a great guy and a solid basketball broadcaster. He struggles with football.

That said, I'm glad to see him get this honor. He's put a lot of years in and this is solid publicity for him and Baylor University.
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I guess it must have been a down year in broadcasting.
How long do you want to ignore this user?
I'll make my usual defense of John Morris:

He's an excellent broadcaster. His interviews are first rate, and he's great at describing a scene and analyzing situations. No one reads a script better.

The one skill he lacks is the ability to describe an event while it is happening. Unfortunately, that's what a play-by-play guy does.

When he did the color analysis with Frank Fallon, he was very good. John doing pxp is simply him playing out of position. He does the best he can, but it's not his strength.

I'm happy to see him recognized for his fine work and dedication.
How long do you want to ignore this user?
saabing bear
How long do you want to ignore this user?
They tossed him the award and he caught and dropped it.
Page 1 of 1
Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.