Sleep....why does it elude me?

1,445 Views | 11 Replies | Last: 11 mo ago by Wangchung
atomicblast
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Anyone have a secret to get to sleep? I'm struggling here. Please help.
saabing bear
I've been using Melatonin for a few years. Still have trouble sleeping so I'm not sure how much it helps. First thing is confront whatever is bothering you and do what you can to resolve it.
Wangchung
20 push-ups just before getting into bed. Once the heart rate drops from the exercise I fall right asleep.
Our vibrations were getting nasty. But why? I was puzzled, frustrated... Had we deteriorated to the level of dumb beasts?
90sBear
It can depend on what you feel is keeping you from falling asleep.

Racing thoughts, not tired enough, too stimulated by screen time before going to sleep, not comfortable, worried about something going on in your life.

All of those can affect you and might be addressed by different methods.

Personally I struggle with racing thoughts and am a light sleeper. I have to have white noise drowning out any other sounds which also helps me with the racing thoughts. If thoughts are a real problem, I found listening to something that is both calming that I can also keep me focused helps. For me that is listening to Bob Ross videos on youtube in airpods. It has been quite a while since I had to do that, but it did help.
No Quarterback
I have always been a light sleeper, and it is always taking me like 30 to 45 minutes to fall asleep. Melatonin can help, as can white noise or ASMR videos.

Do not drink caffeine after 3 PM. Try to avoid looking at your phone right before bedtime
Joe Waco
I tend to have racing thoughts and can't block everything out at night.

What has worked for me is exercising early in the morning before work. That makes me more tired and less likely to allow my brain to be awake. Chamomile tea at night has helped me as well.