When stuff is normal, do Baylor students stay in Waco on the weekends...

3,471 Views | 16 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by McCavebear
FlirtingWithBaylor
How long do you want to ignore this user?
or drive up to the DFW? It looks like a decent city with easy access to nature but I'm curious what the students do for fun off-campus.
BaylorHistory
Waco usually as there are plenty of bars near campus and downtown and if you are socially active there's always a house party around campus. Students will hit up Austin or DFW every once in a while, especially Austin and 6th street or at least we did 10 years ago.
“People who live in glass houses...have to answer the door."
ImwithBU
When I was a student we primarily stayed in Waco. We would hit DFW or Austin occasionally for big weekends like the Texas Relays. It was plenty of parties in Waco despite what people believe
BealBear
Scruffy's!!!!!!
Shippou
Scruffs is a trap for freshman that get passed around, everyone I know usually went up to DFW or Austin for the weekend for a better social experience.
Ashley Hodge
Staff
there is a lot more to do in Waco than when I went to Baylor late 80s/early 90s, but that is one of the cool things about Baylor. For big sports weekends, you can stay in town and enjoy the game and festivities around the game. For "sleepier" weekends, short drives to Austin, DFW, San Antonio, Houston for a lot more entertainment options. Some underrated things to do in nature as well- I remember camping at Mother Neff, hanging out around Lake Waco, gun ranges, going to ranches of friends, etc...
tcbear
My son is a junior and is in fraternity at Baylor. He loves Baylor and Waco and never leaves on the weekends. He also says none of his friends leave on the weekends.
Robert Wilson
Lots of bars, restaurants, house parties - we always stayed in Waco. You might run to Austin, Dallas, or San Antone for a special weekend, but generally we'd be in town.
Chipoople
Summertime is underrated at BU as well.