Canoe / Camping to Waco

2,638 Views | 14 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Brian Ethridge
Bear2021
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Has anyone done a significant canoeing / kayaking and overnight camping trip to Waco / McLane?

Within the last year or so I've gotten much more into the outdoors and was looking at taking a few days on the week of a home game at some point in the future to do a Wednesday-Friday trip into Waco, recover, and go to a Saturday game.

I'm no expert, but the friend I've done trips with was an Eagle Scout and knows his stuff pretty well. I've done white water kayaking (which obviously the Brazos would not entail) before so I at least have that and hiking / camping experience.

I feel like I've read of others doing trips as far as Lake Whitney area - Waco over a couple of days, but I can't seem to find where I've read those in the past. Any suggestions for resources or personal experiences?

Maybe I'm wrong on remembering that being doable, but thought I'd check here.
Grimm
It's like 35+ river miles and super slow... If Whitney is generating you can ride the pulse, but the low flow is really low. After the confluence with Aquilla Creek it basically becomes Lake Brazos and you will be doing a lot of slow paddling and I don't know if there are any good sandbars to camp on. Most people do the stretch from Whitney to 2114 as there is a TPWD leased takeout point there. Look out for airboats.
Grimm
http://southwestpaddler.com/docs/brazos6.html
Is probably the site you saw before.
Robert Wilson
Grimm said:

Most people do the stretch from Whitney to 2114 as there is a TPWD leased takeout point there. Look out for airboats.