Story Poster
Photo by Elizabeth Sherman, SicEm365
Baylor Football

Baylor Trio Up For Tyler Rose Award

August 20, 2016

Official release from Baylor Athletics.

TYLER, Texas – Baylor wide receiver KD Cannon, running back Shock Linwood and quarterback Seth Russell were named to the 2016 Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award watch list, which was announced Tuesday at the Tyler Area Chamber of Commerce East Texas Kickoff Luncheon.

Russell is appearing on the watch list for a second-straight year, while Linwood was recognized on the list in 2014 and Cannon is a first-time honoree. In total, 41 players from 31 different schools made the 2016 version of the award's watch list.

Cannon was a starter at wide receiver in all 13 games for Baylor in 2015 and earned second-team All-Big 12 honors as a sophomore. He averaged 17.4 yards per reception, which ranked sixth in the Big 12, and 66.8 yards per game, which were eighth-best in the conference. Cannon was named All-Big 12 second team by the league coaches, ESPN, Phil Steele, San Antonio Express-News and Waco Tribune-Herald. He produced 868 yards and six TDs on 50 receptions for the season and added seven kick returns for 114 yards. The Mount Pleasant, Texas, product had at least one reception in all 13 games.

Cannon, a junior, was previously named a Preseason All-Big 12 Team selection and a Biletnikoff Award watch list member this fall.

Linwood was the starting running back for the Bears in the first 12 games of the 2015 season, before missing the bowl game due to injury. In his junior campaign, Linwood totaled 1,329 yards and 10 TDs on 196 carries and added 71 yards and a TD on nine receptions. He earned second-team All-Big 12 honors from the AP, league coaches, Athlon, ESPN, Phil Steele and Waco Tribune-Herald. Linwood ranked seventh nationally and second in the Big 12 with 6.78 yards per carry. The Linden, Texas, native was also ranked 20th nationally and fourth in the conference with 110.8 yards per game.

The senior running back has already been on the Doak Walker Award and Maxwell Award watch lists this fall.

Last season, Russell was the starting quarterback for BU through the first seven games before suffering a season-ending injury. Russell racked up 2,104 yards, 29 TDs and six picks on 119-200 passing and 402 yards and six TDs on 49 rushes. He was named honorable mention All-Big 12 by the league coaches and a semifinalist for the Davey O’Brien Award. Russell ranked 15th nationally and fourth in the Big 12 with 29 passing TDs in just seven games. The product of Garland, Texas, broke the single-season school record with 10.06 total offense yards per play.
The honor adds to the senior QB's long list of preseason accolades that includes being named to watch lists for the Maxwell Award, Wuerffel Trophy, Davey O’Brien Award, Walter Camp Award, Johnny Unitas Golden Arm Award and the Manning Award this fall.

The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Award recognizes the top offensive player in Division I football who also exhibits the enduring characteristics that define Earl Campbell: integrity, performance, teamwork, sportsmanship, drive, community and tenacity; specifically tenacity to persist and determination to overcome adversity and injury in pursuit of reaching goals. In addition, the nominee must meet one or more of the following criteria: born in Texas and/or graduated from a Texas High School and/or played at a Texas-based junior college or four year college.

The watch list will be narrowed to up to 16 semifinalists in November and then up to five finalists in December. They will be selected by broadcasters, commentators, journalists, fans and the previous winners. The finalists will be brought to Tyler for The Earl Campbell Tyler Rose Awards Banquet scheduled for Jan. 11, 2017.

The award is named for Earl Campbell, who graduated from John Tyler High School in Tyler before going on to win the Heisman Trophy at Texas. He earned NFL Rookie of the Year honors in 1978 and went on to lead the NFL in rushing three times. Campbell earned NFL MVP honors in 1979 and was elected to the Pro Football Hall of Fame in 1991. Baylor’s Bryce Petty was the inaugural winner of the award in 2013.
Discussion from...

Baylor Trio Up For Tyler Rose Award

2,290 Views | 1 Replies | Last: 6 yr ago by SicEm365 Staff
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.