Story Poster
Baylor Softball

SicEm365 All Decade Team: Canion Leads the Way for Baylor Softball

April 11, 2020

*Over the next several weeks, will publish all-decade teams for most Baylor sports. The series kicks off today with our all-decade softball squad.


The dream of any Division I softball player is to appear in a College World Series. Whitney Canion experienced that feeling at Baylor.


No player in program history enjoyed as much success as Canion. The left-handed pitcher from Aledo, Texas is the school’s all-time leader in wins (123), shutouts (40), innings pitched (1,121-plus)—and she ranks third all-time in the Big 12 in each of those categories. She’s also one of just 11 players in league history to garner first-team all-conference honors four times.

Canion, who is also Baylor’s career leader in strikeouts (1,473), earned first-team All-American accolades in 2014, when she sparked her squad to the College World Series as a senior. She played at Baylor from 2009-14 and had two seasons cut short by injury.

In 2015, Canion became the first Baylor player to have her jersey retired. It goes without saying that Canion was an easy selection for as “Player of the Decade” for Baylor softball.

The rest of our all-decade softball team is listed below.




Whitney Canion (2009-14) - One of the most decorated athletes in Baylor history; was named the Big 12’s Sportsperson of the Year in 2014.


Clare Hosack (2011-14) - Defensive standout started in two College World Series. Ranks 10th in school history in home runs (23) and RBIs (102).


Shelby Friudenberg (2015-18) - Ranks fifth all-time in the Big 12 in RBIs (194) and seventh in home runs (49)


Ari Hawkins (2014-17) - Had an on-base percentage of .430, the sixth-best mark in school history


Sarah Smith (2013-16) - Ranks sixth in Baylor history in career batting average (.359) and fifth in RBIs (135)


Dani Leal (2010-11) - Juco transfer was a third-team All-American when Baylor made the 2011 College World Series


Jessica Scroggins (2015-18) - Ranks seventh all-time in the Big 12 with 277 hits

Kathy Shelton (2010-13) - Ranks third all-time in the Big 12 in stolen bases with 121

Kyla Walker (2016-present) - Baylor’s career leader in batting average (.422)


Lindsey Cargill (2014-17) - Ranks second in Baylor history in hits with 253



P - Heather Stearns (2013-16)

C - Courtney Oberg (2007-10)

1B - Goose McGlaun (2017-present)

2B - Nicky Dawson (2018-present)

3B - Megan Turk (2009-12)

SS - Jordan Strickland (2012-16)

OF - Kayce Walker (2009-12)

OF - Nicole Wesley (2007-10)

OF - Linsey Hayes (2012-16)

UT - Taylor Ellis (2017-present)

Discussion from...

SicEm365 All Decade Team: Canion Leads the Way for Baylor Softball

1,853 Views | 0 Replies | Last: 9 mo ago by SicEm365 Staff
There are not any replies to this post yet.
Page 1 of 1
subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.