EV - Convince Me They Are Great

2,960 Views | 37 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by RegentCoverup
Bexar Pitts
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Thanks for a very interesting thread! An old dog is learning new tricks! Actually splitting time between this and OU/Neb..an it's a good game so far..Kudos!
73s de N4WJP
That appears to be just the beginning, Pecos.
MaxTeller
If they can make a true solid state battery it will be a game changer, however, I have been hearing about break through new batteries for 30 years. Still waiting.
RegentCoverup
This is the Musk battery project to which I referred.

https://www.abc.net.au/news/2020-09-02/tesla-battery-expanded-as-sa-energy-minister-lauds-benefits/12622382

As Pecos stated, it's not the ability to generate energy from alternative sources, it's our ability to store it. Wind and solar are available, it's the part where it's available when you don't need it, ex at night. Thus the problem. So batteries on the grid will help ease a lot of problems in the power cycle. This project would have helped the blackout problem last winter, but the politicians effed it.

Combustion engines won't disappear from the earth, we'll just rely on them less and less. Probably more diesel, too.

You can look at what market share for consumers will look like by looking at the total production of the major automakers, who are cranking out more and more hybrid and EV powertrains. We have reached a sort of inflection point, IMO, where the average family of four should strongly consider a hybrid or EV vehicle if they are purchasing a 4-door sedan. 4 door sedans are damned near commoditized, it's difficult to differentiate between many of the brands, especially if you put them side by side. Good news is, the prices continue to drop.