Waco Snow History

3,015 Views | 19 Replies | Last: 3 yr ago by Bearicade
gobears20
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Staff
https://www.weather.gov/fwd/wmosnow
gobears20
Staff
trey3216
gobears20 said:

Top 9, or 11, whatever.
Mr. Treehorn treats objects like women, man.
4th and Inches
Wife and I were discussing this over the weekend and we both recalled 1982 being the last "big" snow in Waco...
NOVA Bear
There was a pretty decent snow in December of 1989. I was a freshman at Baylor and it snowed during exam week. The campus looked beautiful with about an inch or two of snow. It was late in the week so many students had already finished up. I lived in Brooks and they turned the heaters off assuming all the students were gone, but there were still a few of us with a Saturday exam that had to convince facilities to turn the heat on for one more night.
PTGHUNTER
That must be the year I had a test late in the test cycle and I took my last test and decided to stay in Waco that night before I drove to Dallas the next day.

I woke up the next day and the whole state was covered in snow and ice.

I drove to Dallas and you really couldn't change lanes because there were tire ruts formed in the ice, in each lane, and once in a rut it was hard to change lanes.

I was thankful for the ruts because it was at least keeping cars on the road. I got to Dallas and I-20 was a sheet of ice and I was longing for those ruts.

That was a long stressful drive.

PartyBear
I recall a large snow storm in about February perhaps late January of 85. That keeps being left off the list. My memory of that one was that it was bigger than the one this past Sunday. I remember it being about like the 82 one. I'm not sure why it keeps being left off of this lists of records.
MrGolfguy
PartyBear said: