Story Poster
Photo by Jack Mackenzie - SicEm365
Baylor Football

Baylor AD Mack Rhoades to Serve on CFP Selection Committee

February 8, 2024

WACO, Texas -- Baylor Vice President and Director of Intercollegiate Athletics Mack B. Rhoades IV has been added to the 2024 College Football Playoff Selection Committee, it was announced by the CFP on Thursday afternoon. 

Rhoades, in his seventh year leading Baylor’s athletics program, will join the committee for the 2024 season and will serve a three-year term. 

A two-time and consecutive honoree as the nation’s athletics director of the year, Rhoades took over the Baylor Athletics program in July of 2016. He was named the 2019-20 Under Armour AD of the Year by the National Associate of Collegiate Directors of Athletics and the 2021 AD of the Year by the Sports Business Journal. 

Rhoades took over the Baylor program after serving in the same capacity at Missouri (2015-16), Houston (2009-15) and Akron (2006-09). He got his start in collegiate athletics at Yale (1996) and Marquette (1997-98), and spent seven years as the Executive Senior Associate AD at UTEP (1998-06). 

The 2024 CFP Committee will be chaired by Michigan Athletics Director Warde Manuel, who replaced NC State’s Boo Corrigan, who served as the chair for the last two seasons. Rhoades will be joined by new committee members including Washington State Athletics Director Patrick Chun, former All-American defensive lineman from Arizona State Randall McDaniel, former Toledo and Missouri head coach Gary Pinkel, Virginia Athletics Director Carla Williams and Arkansas Athletics Director Hunter Yurachek. 

The new committee members replace outgoing members including Corigan, Kentucky’s Mitch Barnhart, Utah’s Mark Harlan, Kansas State’s Gene Taylor, Virginia Union’s Joe Taylor, and former Notre Dame national championship linebacker/tight end Rod West. 

“The additions of Pat, Randall, Gary, Mack, Carla and Hunter will bring some great new voices to the selection committee as we enter our 11th season,” CFP Executive Director Bill Hancock said. “Their knowledge, passion and character, along with their understanding of college football, will allow them to make the transition seamlessly with the returning members. And it is great to have Will Shields returning. His understanding and wisdom will be a real benefit.”

The CFP selection committee is responsible for selecting the 12 teams in the playoff and assigning them to the playoff bracket, as well as ranking the other top 25 teams. The committee meets in-person beginning late in the football season and produces a ranking of the top 25 teams each week leading up to its final selections. 

The other returning selection committee members are Chris Ault (longtime head coach and athletics director at the University of Nevada), Chet Gladchuk (athletics director, U.S. Naval Academy), Jim Grobe (longtime head coach at Ohio University, Wake Forest and Baylor), Manuel (athletics director, University of Michigan), David Sayler (athletics director, Miami [Ohio] University), Will Shields (former All-American offensive lineman, University of Nebraska), and Kelly Whiteside (longtime sportswriter for USA Today, Sports Illustrated and Newsday).


subscribe Verify your student status
See Subscription Benefits
Trial only available to users who have never subscribed or participated in a previous trial.