Sous Vide Awesomeness

19,470 Views | 96 Replies | Last: 4 yr ago by DioNoZeus
Bear-0-Daktyl
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Anybody else cook sous vide and have any recipes they'd care to share? I just got an Anova I'm starting to experiment with.
CTCBear
Chefsteps.com and seriouseats.com are both great resources for technique and recipes.

I have had an anova for a year now and have loved it. Great tool.
BearlyHeardFrom
I've been doing Sous Vide for a couple of years. Absolutely love it. Some of the best meals I've ever done have been via the Sous Vide.
Bear-0-Daktyl
The ridiculous thing I'm doing that made me request this forum involves sous vide, but it will be a choke of weeks before I have time to do it. Pumped about it.
RebelT
I bought an Anova about 6 weeks ago and haven't even taken it out of the box yet, but I'm excited to try it soon.

I've seen CTCBear post about Serious Eats / Kenji in two different places too, and I'm a big fan too. I basically start there for any recipe that I'm curious about.
ATXBear
I got an Anova for Christmas and so far so good. Everything comes out very tender. I usually sear whatever I'm cooking with a cast iron skillet afterwards. I'd advise seasoning your meats more than normal or marinating as I've had a few things that tasted under seasoned. ChefSteps is great as others have said!
No Huddle
ATXBear said:

I usually sear whatever I'm cooking with a cast iron skillet afterwards.
I agree with this and would suggest putting the skillet in the oven at high temp for 5-10 min before placing on high heat stovetop.
bularry
No Huddle said:

ATXBear said:

I agree with this and would suggest putting the skillet in the oven at high temp for 5-10 min before placing on high heat stovetop.

that will be a smoky mess in the house, though!
No Huddle
bularry said:

No Huddle said:

ATXBear said:

that will be a smoky mess in the house, though!
Turn on the vent!

Bear-0-Daktyl