Call it: How many US deaths from COVID-19, and why?

24,656 Views | 278 Replies | Last: 2 yr ago by Robert Wilson
Oldbear83
How long do you want to ignore this user?
Just want to document now what you think will happen.

What will be the total death count in the US for 2020 from COVID-19?

That which does not kill me, will try again and get nastier
contrario
About 10,000. I think it will continue to spread, but I think due to public and private efforts, it will be limited. The virus appears to only be fatal in old people. We've had about 60 deaths so far. I could see it being less than 10,000, but I think 10,000 is reasonable based on the trend so far and the likelihood that the virus will peak in about 2 weeks in the US. I estimate the peak based on the progression in China and South Korea and I expect Italy, France and Spain to peak within a few days.

I'm not a medical professional, I'm just analyzing the data.
Bearitto
Oldbear83 said:

This type of estimate is referred to in medical circles as a "personal rectal extraction". In other words, you would have to pull it right out of your own ass. No one knows even what the denominator is yet. Not to mention there are so many "ifs" at this point.

1. If it gets into major elderly populations (the Villages in Florida, then maybe a lot)
2. If Gilead's remdesivir drug is as effective as it looks right now
3. If there is a successful vaccine
4. If the virus mutates
5. If the denominator is way off because of too many asymptomatic carriers and lack of testing

What we do know, however, is who is likely to die. The average age of people who have died from this virus is 81 years old. As of 2016, the number of people over 65 in the USA was approximately 50 million. If the mortality rate is 15% among that population (which it has been in China and in Italy and US so far), and if ALL of them get it, the maximum death toll in the US would be 7.5 million people, with virtually all of them elderly and/or infirm.