White privilege?

58,492 Views | 600 Replies | Last: 5 yr ago by Waco1947
fadskier
How long do you want to ignore this user?
only anecdotal stories of white privilege...which turns out to be simple racism with individuals...there are more advantages today of being non-white
D. C. Bear
bubbadog said:

D. C. Bear said:

bubbadog said:

DaveyBear said:

I have white privilege.

I had a father at home.

I was not aborted.

I graduated from school.

I got married before we had 3 kids.

What difficult concepts to understand for Stinque and crew!

Anyone who does not follow the above example is disadvantaged (statistically)
So many dog whistles. So little space.

There's plenty of space.

If you are fortunate enough to have a father present, if you get an education and if you get married before you have kids, you dramatically increase your odds at being what we tend to call successful. This applies without regard for skin color. Want to make things better? Develop policies that encourage those three things.
Of course these are true. So if you're white, you can be confident that you'll have these things, and if you're black you can't?
Depends on what you mean by "confident." On an individual level, you can't know one way or another, but, as your sample size increases, you can draw some fairly confident conclusions at a group level.

According to data from kidscount.org, you've go a 66 percent chance of being in a single parent home if you're African America, and a 24 percent if you're non-Hispanic white.

https://datacenter.kidscount.org/data/bar/107-children-in-single-parent-families-by-race?loc=1&loct=1#1/any/false/870/10,11,9,12,1,185,13/431

As best I can tell, it's legitimate data, and matches up with what I've read in the past from other sources. The organization is supposed by the Annie E. Casey Foundation, a group I hear mentioned as a supporter of NRP.